Know DUI Penalties And Fight For Your Future

Your potential penalties in case of a DUI conviction in Pennsylvania will depend on your blood alcohol content (BAC), determined by breath, blood or urine testing shortly after your traffic stop. Other factors will include whether or not you have a prior DUI offense on record and whether you refused to submit to a breath or chemical test.

What follows is an abbreviated summary of potential DUI penalties in York County or elsewhere in Pennsylvania at various BAC levels. It is representative and not intended to be comprehensive. Specific penalties, depending on BAC tiers, may vary in detail but will typically include the following:

With .08 to .099 percent BAC and:

  • No prior DUI offenses (an ungraded misdemeanor): Up to six months' probation, a $300 fine and mandatory alcohol highway safety school.
  • One prior DUI offense (an ungraded misdemeanor): Up to 12 months' driver's license suspension, five days to six months' jail time, a $300-$2,500 fine, mandatory highway safety school, treatment when ordered, and one year with an ignition interlock device.
  • Two or more prior DUI offenses (a second-degree misdemeanor): Up to 12 months driver's license suspension, 10 days to two years in prison, a $500-$5,000 fine, treatment when ordered and one year with an ignition interlock device.

With .10 to .159 percent BAC and:

  • No prior DUI offenses (an ungraded misdemeanor): Up to 12 months' driver's license suspension, 48 hours to six months in prison, a $500-$5,000 fine, alcohol highway safety school and treatment when ordered.
  • One prior DUI offense (an ungraded misdemeanor: Up to 12 months' driver's license suspension, 30 days to six months in prison, a $750-5,000 fine, alcohol highway safety school, treatment when ordered and one year with an ignition interlock device.
  • Two prior DUI offenses (a first-degree misdemeanor): Up to 18 months' driver's license suspension, 90 days to five years in prison, a $1,500-$10,000 fine, treatment when ordered, one year with an ignition interlock device.
  • Three prior DUI offenses (a first-degree misdemeanor): Up to 18 months' driver's license suspension, one to five years in prison, a $1,500-$10,000 fine, treatment when ordered and one year with an ignition interlock device.

With .16 percent BAC or higher, or a controlled substance other than alcohol:

  • No prior DUI offenses (an ungraded misdemeanor): Up to 12 months' driver's license suspension; 72 hours to six months in prison, a $1,500-$5,000 fine, mandatory alcohol highway safety school and treatment when ordered.
  • One prior DUI offense (a first-degree misdemeanor): Up to 18 months' driver's license suspension, 90 days to five years in prison, a $1,500-$10,000 fine, mandatory alcohol highway safety school, treatment when ordered and one year with an ignition interlock device.
  • Two or more prior DUI offenses (a first-degree misdemeanor): Up to 18 months driver's license suspension, one to five years in prison, a $2,500-$10,000 fine, treatment when ordered and one year with an ignition interlock device.

For more specific details related to potential penalties if your case in or near York County results in a conviction, consult with an attorney at Griest, Himes, Herrold, Reynosa LLP.

Let's Talk About Your Case

Are you concerned about potential loss of your driver's license and other negative repercussions of your DUI case in York County? Discuss options for getting your charges reduced or pursuing other favorable outcomes after a drunk driving arrest. Call our firm at 717-900-5677, or contact us by email to schedule a consultation with an experienced defense lawyer.